The Unfortunate Bridegroom

5 09 2012

Just for fun everyone. If you’re looking for perfection and formality in this one, look elsewhere. If you’re looking for a smile, read on. 😀  Enjoy!

 

Pray tell my good sir

Would you lend me your ear?

For I have a dreary tale

That I need someone to hear

 

Forgive me my good sire

For I hate to intrude

But ya see I have this problem

And I don’t know what to do

 

I was on my way to church

Where I was to be wed

Until a tragedy occurred

That’s left me here instead

 

I had bought a proper ring

To bestow upon my bride

But it would seem that my pocket

Was not intact inside

 

This I did not discover

Till I was half way here

And I’m afraid fate has brought about

The greatest of my fears

 

Now no ring have I got

To present to my wife

And should she find out

She’s liable to take my life

 

I’ve searched frantically

But its no where to be found

I’ve doubled backed my tracks

And searched a quarter mile ground

 

So here I stand quaking

While the alter waits inside

I cant enter within

But neither can I hide

 

Yet I cannot find the ring

And cannot buy another one

Spending all my funds upon the first

Now money have I none

 

The gentleman paused in his walk

And thought it over thrice

Then turning to the groom

He offered his advice

 

Run home young man

And fetch forth a bell

Then you must shake it

And you must shake it well

 

The ringing brought forth

You must capture in a jar

So the next time it is opened

It will sound near and far

 

Then a ring you should have

To present to your wife

By which she will be satisfied

And you shall have your life

 

Then the man stepped away

Without another word

Leaving the poor lad slack jawed

Sitting on the curb

Actions

Information

One response

6 09 2012
MarinaSofia

Very like a ballad – but on a much cheerier note! Thanks for sharing the fun.

Leave a Reply

