A reflective note (almost post finals)

13 12 2012

I write this briefly as I bang my head against the last paper of the season. I have finished all my finals ( two ten page papers, one portfolio with 8 revised poems, one test with 40 essay questions, an internship portfolio with all my work from the entire semester, an art portfolio, two more finals tests and now just this remaining ten page paper.) It seems the closer I get to graduating the more college wants to keep me right where I’m at. I had a lot of fun this semester though, mainly in my poetry (thank you Adam) and art classes (and thank you Doug.) I feel accomplished but also borderline comatose. This will be relieved with a trip home for the weekend to see my Momma and sister. There is nothing that says Christmas quite as much as being with family with the sweet anticipation of Momma’s cooking. I wrote a good bit of poetry this semester which I shared a bit with ya’ll. There is more to come, which I’ll post when I can actually catch my breath. This is just one of those teaser posts. On a related note I did try my hand at NaNoWriMo and got about 10,000 words in before pre-finals preparation ripped me from my plot line. They really didn’t consider us poor college students when they chose November to be the month of eternal challenges. Oh well, I’ll work on it more come Christmas break. 

In the meantime I don’t want to leave you completely poetryless so I have included one of my beloved poems by Carl Sandburg. I love it for it’s minimalist nature but also for the depth of imagery in just a few lines. It reminds me of a place where I’d like to curl up with a cup of coffee and look out over this scene. Try reading the poem quietly to yourself really taking the time to savor the words.  Well here it is, enjoy!

Cheers!

 

Fog

The fog comes
on little cat feet.

It sits looking
over harbor and city
on silent haunches
and then moves on.

 

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

